Triple Crown Racing

The finale of the Triple Crown is coming up on Saturday June 6th, with American Pharoah the most likely looking contender to take all three race titles in 37 years.

Here’s a brief outline of what is possibly the three most important races in American Thoroughbred Racing:

The Kentucky Derby

The first jewel in the Triple Crown is the Kentucky Derby, held at Churchill Downs. This race has earned the title ‘The Most Exciting Two Minutes in Sport’. For the horse owners, the Run for the Roses is the first step to seeing if their thoroughbred has a shot at the crown.

The Preakness Stakes

Thoroughbred racing comes to Maryland on the third Saturday in May each year for the second and shortest leg in The triple Crown. This week-long celebration concludes at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore and determines if there will be a Triple Crown contender for the year.

The Belmont Stakes

The Belmont Stakes, first run in 1867, is the oldest of the Triple Crown races and one of the oldest stakes races in North America. This third and final leg is contested three weeks after the Preakness and five weeks after the Kentucky Derby. Only 11 times has a horse been able to wrap it all up in New York, the last being in 1978! Could this year be the 12th?

Triple Crown Winners

Triple Crown Winners